PHOTOGRAPHS

OF THE

FIRST MEMBERS

OF THE

MINNESOTA COURT OF APPEALS



The first judges are sworn, November 2, 1983.
From left to right: Daniel Foley, Harriet Lansing,
D. D. Wozniak, Chief Justice Douglas K. Amdahl,
Edward Parker, Suzanne Sedgwick,
Chief Judge Peter S. Popovich.



The second six judges are sworn, April 2, 1984.
From left to right: Gary Crippen, Roger Nierengarten, Thomas Forsberg,
Doris Huspeni, David Leslie, R. A. (Jim) Randall,
Chief Justice Douglas K. Amdahl, Chief Judge Peter S. Popovich.



Fred Norton takes oath of office (1987).
From left to right: Chief Justice Douglas K. Amdahl,
Chief Judge Peter S. Popovich, Judge Norton.





Chief Judges
From left to right: Chief Judge Peter S. Popovich,
former Chief Justice of the United State Supreme Court Warren K. Burger,
Chief Justice Douglas K. Amdahl.

APPENDIX

By statute, one seat on the appeals court was designated for each of the eight congressional districts, with residence within the district as a requirement for the appointment. All other seats were without restrictions as to residence. All judges, following the appointment periods, were subject to statewide election. The original court was composed of the following individuals:

Chief Judge Peter S. Popovich, St. Mary's Point. Former legislator and St. Paul lawyer. Appointed from the Sixth Congressional District.

Gary Crippen, Worthington. Nobles County attorney, 1966-1974; county judge for Nobles and three other counties, 1975-1984. Appointed from the Second Congressional District.

Daniel Foley, Rochester. Former national commander, American Legion. District judge in Olmsted County, 1966-1983. Appointed from the First Congressional District.

Thomas Forsberg, Fridley. Municipal court judge, 1953-1968; Anoka County court judge, 1968-1972; district judge in the Tenth Judicial District, 1972-1984. Appointed at large.

Doris Ohisen Huspeni, Minneapolis. Public Defender; referee in Hennepin County family court, 1974-1980; municipal court judge, 1980-1982; district court judge in the Fourth Judicial District, 1982-1984. Appointed from the Fifth Congressional District.

Harriet Lansing, St. Paul. St. Paul city attorney, 1976-1978; Ramsey County municipal court judge, 1978-1983. Appointed from the Fourth Congressional District.

David Leslie, Golden Valley. Assistant attorney general, 1957-1963; municipal court judge in Hennepin County until 1971, when he was appointed to the district bench. Appointed from the Third Congressional District.

Roger Nierengarten, Sartell. Stearns County attorney, 1962-1966; former chairman, Minnesota Catholic Conference Board of Education. Appointed from the Seventh Congressional District.

Edward Parker, Minneapolis. Hennepin County municipal judge, 1963-1966; district judge in the Fourth Judicial District, 1966-1974. Appointed at large.

R. A. (Jim) Randall, Hibbing. Former public defender. Appointed from the Eighth Congressional District.

Susanne Sedgwick, Excelsior. Assistant Hennepin County attorney, 1968-1970; municipal court judge, 1970-1974; district judge of the Fourth Judicial District, 1974-1980. Appointed at large.

D. D. Wozniak, St. Paul. Lawyer, former legislator and conciliation court referee. Appointed at large.

Fred Norton, St. Paul. Legislator from 1965-1987; former Speaker of the House of Representatives. Appointed at large in 1987.

=0=

ACKNOWLEDGMENT

The photographs and part of the text are from Peter S. Popovich, *Beginning A Judicial Tradition: Formative Years of the Minnesota Court of Appeals* (1987).

0****

Posted MLHP: January 2, 2015.